Delhi Earthquake: 3.4 magnitude earthquake hits Delhi and nearby areas

Delhi Earthquake

Delhi Earthquake: On Sunday afternoon, a small earthquake hit Delhi Noida and surrounding areas. Tremors in the earthquake have been moderate in nature, and no casualties from tremors have been recorded. The magnitude 3.5 earthquake hit Delhi, news agency.

Earlier, light rain and dust storm in the national capital and nearby areas provided much needed relief from rising heat with weather predictions stressing that the heatwave would likely last for a few more days.

The epicenter of the tremor was in Northeast Delhi close to Wazirpur, J.L Gautam, Head (Operations) of the Ministry of Earth Science NCS Institute.

The epicenter of the earthquakes on 12 and 13 April of 3.5 and 2.7 respectively has the same location and the surrounding regions.

The 3.4 Ritcher-scale earthquake struck Delhi and its environs at 14 pm (IST), according to the National Seismology Centre.

No loss of life or property was rendered instantly. Somewhere at the Delhi-Uttar Pradesh border, the epicenter of the quake was told.

Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal tweeted 

This is in the national capital’s third earthquake with the nationwide lockdown of coronavirus. In April, Delhi reported the same location and surrounding areas as the epicentre, two back-to-back occurrences of low-intense earthquakes.Three Back to Back.

Zones- Delhi Earthquake

Delhi falls under ‘Zone IV’ of the four seismic zones of the city-Area II, III, IV, V. “After these, Zone V is the most seismic area, while Zone II is the least area,” the Earth Science Minister said in a study on the seismic areas of the country.

Zone-v covers the North East of India in its entirety; Himachal Pradesh, Kutch Rann and Kashmir in Gujarat, and Andaman and Nicobar Islands. Zone-v covers the North East India in parts Jammu and Kashmir.

Zone-IV includes rest of Jammu and Himachal-Pradesh areas, Delhi’s National Capital Territory (NCT), Sikkim, Uttar Pradesh North, Bihar and West Bengal areas, Guharato and small sections of Maharashtra, along the western coast, and Rajasthan. Zone-IV contains the rest.

The area of Zone III consists Kerala, Goa, Lakshadweep Islands, remaining parts of Punjab, Rajasthan, Midha Pradesh, Bihar, Hattisgarh, Maharashtra, Orissa, Andhra Pradesh, Tamilnadu and Karnatak. Zone III contains the remaining parts of Pradesh Ottar, Gujarat and West Bengal. Zone — the rest of the country is protected by Zone II.

The nation’s capital is sensitive to volcanic activity but is never the epicentre. Nonetheless, Delhi suffers tremor after a quake hit areas that are considered to be high-seismic zones as far as Central Asia or Himalaya is concerned.

ALSO READ: Yoga Poses For Weight Lose: 10 Asanas to Help You Lose Weight Naturally |Lockdown 3.0 Guidelines: For Red, Orange and Green Zones

Video About Delhi Earthquake

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.